Literacy Resources

Welcome to my literacy resources page!

Here you will find information about literacy and lots of free literacy resources.

To share the page use the links on the side of the page!

Use the links below to go to the different sections of the page!


Literacy/English & The National Curriculum

Literacy or English is one of several subjects that form the heart of the National Curriculum in state schools and in some private schools. Academies do not have to follow the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum stipulates statutory learning outcomes that pupils attending certain schools must achieve. Literacy outcomes are specified for each year group and each of the five "key stages" that form part of the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum covers five key stages. Detailed below are the five stages and their corresponding year groups and age ranges.

Key Stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

Age Year Key Stage Assessment

3 to 4 Early years

4 to 5 Reception Early years Teacher assessments (there’s also an optional assessment at the start of the year)

5 to 6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check

6 to 7 Year 2 KS1 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science

7 to 8 Year 3 KS2

8 to 9 Year 4 KS2

9 to 10 Year 5 KS2

10 to 11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English and maths, and teacher assessments in science

11 to 12 Year 7 KS3

12 to 13 Year 8 KS3

13 to 14 Year 9 KS3

14 to 15 Year 10 KS4 Some children take GCSEs

15 to 16 Year 11 KS4 Most children take GCSEs or other national qualifications

16 to 18 Years 12 & 13 KS5

AS & A Levels and vocational qualifications are studied

The above information is sourced from: Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. To view the licence click here:

Literacy Skills

Literacy encompasses a range of different skills. The National Curriculum lists three main skills: spoken language, reading and writing, which are then broken down into subskills.

Spoken language


  • word reading
  • comprehension


  • transcription
  • spelling
  • handwriting
  • composition
  • vocabulary
  • spelling
  • grammar

For details of each key stage and what English skills are learned in each year or key stage click on the button below and then use the contents menu to navigate to the section you require.

Literacy Resources for Learners & Teachers

Featured Literacy Resources

Click on the links below to get the latest free ESL resources!

Literacy Resources Folders

Check out my resources folders and help yourself to my free learning and teaching resources!